65 GT Mustang "Whats it worth?"

Mustang Australia

Author Topic: 65 GT Mustang "Whats it worth?"  (Read 16284 times)

Offline Wade

• P Plates
  • I'm new here
  • Name: Wade
65 GT Mustang "Whats it worth?"
« on: March 31, 2017, 10:17:33 am »
Hello,

Take it easy on me, I'm not sure my question is even able to be answered without a lot of other questions. I'm new to understanding Mustangs but what I've noticed is there is no standard pricing, everyone has their own idea of what their car is worth.
I've started to look around for a 65-66 Mustang, I've found a 65 GT, standard interior, 4 speed manual, original paint that I'm told is a numbers matching car. It is in "fair" original condition. I've checked the VIN plate and it matches up to the factory release. 
My question before wasting my time and the sellers time is "What's it worth?"
Thanks for any advice.
Wade

Offline GLENN 70

• GT 500
Re: 65 GT Mustang "Whats it worth?"
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2017, 10:38:21 am »
Good question . Yes we need more info about the car as it could be 15,000 or 50,000 for a coupe . What's the seller asking .  A nice one will be 35-40 K .  What part of Aust is it in .
« Last Edit: March 31, 2017, 10:52:07 am by GLENN 70 »

Offline 67FBGT

• Blue Printed
  • Car: 1967
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2017, 10:39:51 am »
Well what's he asking for it?
Every car is different, due to the wide range of options on the ordering list it's hard to find two cars exactly the same. Fast forward 50+ yrs & some cars will have fared better than others over time.
So it all depends on condition, options, specs etc.
Is it a hardtop, convertible or fastback?
Is it a factory GT, or does it have dealer or owner-added GT options? Assessing that is worthwhile as that will affect value.
If an owner has spent a truckload of $$$ on his/her car then clearly they will expect a fair return on their expenditure.