Engine Mods 101 - Need some advice

Mustang Australia

Author Topic: Engine Mods 101 - Need some advice  (Read 47288 times)

Offline BAC

• Supercharged
  • Name: Brian
  • Car: '71 M code auto
Engine Mods 101 - Need some advice
« on: March 22, 2015, 02:56:26 pm »
Hi guys,
I'm not sure I even want to tackle this yet, but I am curious as to the general opinions here on the best 'bang for buck' upgrades to a stock-ish 351W motor.

Sorry to say I know not very much about the engine in my '69 Mach 1 and I'm new to V8s in general (grew up with 4cyl turbos) so please be tolerant of my ignorance!  Here's what I do know:

- started out life as a 2 barrel 'H' code 351 Windsor
- still has the original numbers matching block from 1969
- original carby has been replaced by a generic Holley 4 barrel (marked 6104-3 on the side)
- original 2V intake manifold has been replaced by a 4V 'Ford Racing' one (no markings that I can see)
- rocker covers are also branded 'Ford Racing'
- pretty sure  it's still running tappets as you get that clack-clack-clack sound from the top end at idle
- full length Hedman headers
- stock FMX auto tranny
- 3.00 diff ratio

That's about all I know.  No idea if the heads are original, there's no obvious markings that I can see and they are painted the same Ford blue colour as the block. Not really keen to pull too much apart at the moment to find out more as I'm afraid I might bugger something up.

What I'd like is some feedback on the least expensive (parts and labour) mods I could make to improve the motor a little.  Not after big power, maybe just a bit more torque at cruising RPMs.  So where to start - would roller rockers be a worthwhile upgrade?  Should I be looking at a new set of heads - AFR/Trickflow/something else?  What model/size and rough cost?  How much of this would be DIY-able for someone with modest mechanical skills?