hope these help.....

Mustang Australia

Author Topic: hope these help.....  (Read 1775 times)

Offline Yella 66

• Pony
hope these help.....
« on: June 28, 2009, 09:50:54 pm »
Hi all
I'm a newbie and have been trying to install a Grant steering wheel into my 66 Fastback.  got the original steering wheel off ok, but got a bit stumped by the turn signal and the 2 spring buttons for the horn. Are they supposed to stay - or do i cut them off OR does the custom hub just push on top of them...i tried this but it didn't seem right.

The instructions i have are a bit vague and i'm not confident enough to cut wires etc - is there a website or something with diagrams /photos??

thanks

Offline non member

• Top Streeter
  • Account Closed
hope these help.....
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2009, 10:36:46 pm »
The Grant wheel fits on without cutting anything. The instructions are a bit difficult, but reread them & sleep on it.They actually fit quite nice as 2 of the cars in my photobucket site have them.

Offline Yella 66

• Pony
hope these help.....
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2009, 02:34:29 pm »
does the custom hob just sit over the 2 horn pins and the plastic set up for the indicators, and then all the rest just fits over?...it seemed a bit unstable??
if that's how it goes then all sorted

Offline 66RedRagtop

• Supercharged
hope these help.....
« Reply #4 on: June 29, 2009, 03:23:46 pm »
My indicator return mechanism really crashes through when self cancelling, so it might be worthwhile to jack up the front wheels and try that out before tightening your steering wheel nut.

Think I'll have to check the instructions, then remove the steering wheel and see what's going on, after 5 years of putting up with it.

Offline Yella 66

• Pony
hope these help.....
« Reply #5 on: June 30, 2009, 11:31:24 pm »
thanks all I will try again on the weekend...at least i'll know how to take it apart.