$1800 Heater??

Mustang Australia

Author Topic: $1800 Heater??  (Read 3554 times)

Offline scottdogs

• Thoroughbred
$1800 Heater??
« on: August 09, 2006, 09:12:49 am »
Hi,

I have been trying to find someone local who is able to get the heater working on my 66 coupe. The first guy I took it to gave me the car back after a few hours and said he'd rather not have anything to do with it.

So I went over the road to a guy that always has a hot rod parked outside and asked if he could get the heater working. He didn't get back to me with a quote so I dropped in again to see him and now he informs me that it could cost up around $1800 to get it running!! For a total of 6 hours work!!

Is it just me or does this sound way over the top for a heater??

I'm no mechanic, but looking on Mustangs Unlimited it looks like I can replace the entire thing for around US$250

Would I be correct in assuming that to redo the whole thing all I need are these 2 items? (minus cables and hoses)

http://www.mustangsunlimited.com/itemdy00.asp?T1=18A542+01
http://www.mustangsunlimited.com/itemdy00.asp?T1=18500KIT+01

Or am I missing some other part which costs another $1200??

if it does cost $1800 then so be it, but for someone who claims to be a stang enthusiast I can't help feel like he's trying to pull the wool over my eyes.

s.

Offline Bashfull

• Thoroughbred
$1800 Heater??
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2006, 05:34:24 pm »
hi,

first port of call..would be it to ask for an itemised account...
to understand how the account is made up...
it should show what services he outsourced...
perhaps had your core redone etc....

though in six hours i would like to know where...
also ..it should show some charges...of time he is atempting to charge for...

Offline yianni351

• Stallion
$1800 Heater??
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2006, 08:54:53 pm »
Hi There,

Is your 66  LHD or RHD?

Offline ppmurf

• Stallion
$1800 Heater??
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2006, 10:09:02 pm »