Purchasing a Mustang

Mustang Australia

Author Topic: Purchasing a Mustang  (Read 9796 times)

Offline misslys

• L Plates
Purchasing a Mustang
« on: October 25, 2008, 12:31:05 pm »
Im new at buying these lovely old school cars but am looking into purchasing a recent import 66 hardtop. I want to use it as an every day run around car so could someone tell me how expensive the upkeep of a classic car like this would be? ie- servicing and parts? I dont have a man around the house to help tinker with it so would need a reliable service center near cronulla NSW.

Offline stuie87

• Worked
Purchasing a Mustang
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2008, 05:30:14 pm »
  Before you do anything give Dennis Wilson a call at D + S automotive at Kirrawee.
 Knows near all there is to know about mustangs and then some.
 Id say he would even do a pre purchase inspect for you.

Offline stuie87

• Worked
Purchasing a Mustang
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2008, 05:37:20 pm »
http://nsw.mustang.org.au/advertisers/26.htm

Theres a link to the workshop.

Offline misslys

• L Plates
Purchasing a Mustang
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2008, 05:43:47 pm »
Thanks heaps for that
i'll call him monday, fingers crossed the car isnt a lemon!

Offline Xrayman

• Worked
  • Fatigued - sick of overtime
Purchasing a Mustang
« Reply #4 on: October 25, 2008, 05:43:48 pm »
Misslys in my experience, so long as you are not set on buying NOS (new old spares) or OEM (original equipment/manufacturor) the most expensive part of having a mustang as a daily driver is FUEL. Depending on engine size, (& how hard and where (eg. parking on the "highway" you drive it) you probably won't see better than 18L/100 from any of the V8's - my warmed-up 351 gets anywhere from 25 to 30L/100;x

but parts/servicing are nowhere as expensive as new cars.
eg I had a shop rewire my headlights with higher guage & relays for about $110

Aaron
Aaron

what is essential is invisible to the eye

Offline stuie87

• Worked
Purchasing a Mustang