'69+Coyote Ground-Up Build: initial research

Mustang Australia

Author Topic: '69+Coyote Ground-Up Build: initial research  (Read 17385 times)

Offline Lorik_Quiin

• L Plates
  • Preparing for the inevitable moneypit...
'69+Coyote Ground-Up Build: initial research
« on: April 23, 2015, 01:20:42 pm »
Hi guys,

First off - First post, nice to meet you all :)

I'm an engineer, and I'm now coming to a point in my life where I have money to spend on things I want, not things I need to get by. My work is also steering away from the hands-on engineering that I love towards a more paperwork based certification role. And I'm fine with that, but I need to keep getting my hands dirty or I'll go mental.

I've loved classic mustangs for as long as I can remember. Particularly the '69. I have no particular interest in the history / spirit of mustangs - I grew up in the wrong country, and the wrong time, I just have no connection to it - but god its a beautiful machine! I've wanted to own one for a long time.

After having seen a number of articles on Coyote engine swaps, I'm hooked on the idea of taking an excellent modern engine, and putting it in (what I think is) the best mustang body in the last 50 years. I'm thinking that this will be my project for a good few years to come.

I don't plan to start from a decades-old machine. I want to take a brand new shell from Dyancorn, and build my mustang up from nothing. Hopefully this'll be the closest thing to a 69 mustang built in 2015+ as one can possibly get.

I know this will be a LOT!! of work, time, and money - even taking into account Hofstadter's Law.

I have some acceptable mechanical skills with my job, and from wrenching on my and my wife's motorbikes, but I know I'll need to develop a lot of new skills. It will also be more difficult and expensive because I'm doing this in Australia, not the states so shipping and lead times will be a pain.