HELP NEEDED URGENTLY

Mustang Australia

Author Topic: HELP NEEDED URGENTLY  (Read 13449 times)

Offline GEOFF289

• Blue Printed
HELP NEEDED URGENTLY
« on: July 19, 2014, 09:48:18 am »
Hi Everyone. I am in dire need of help getting my new motor to run.

As a rank amateur I have spent the last couple of months replacing the tired 289 in my 66 with a reco roller cam 5.0. It is a basic engine and came complete with a new Holley 600 and aluminium manifold.. Earlier this week I got to the point where I was ready to start it up, time it, do some basic carby adjustments for the time being and check that all was well with the new trans I also put in. Once that was done the idea was to get it towed to an exhaust place to get it hooked up to the JBA shorty headers I bought and installed.

I compensate for being a mechanical mug by extensive research and triple checking everything I do. So triple checked everything - oil pressure primed, dizzy and rotor at TDC on cyl 1 on comp stroke, plug leads all correct for firing order, all wiring etc. The moment of truth arrived. Should also say that I do have 12 volts continuous to the coil with engine running as this was done for the Pertronix in the old motor, I have verified this with a multi meter. After a bit of mucking around I got it to fire up but it kept dying unless I held the throttle open. Turned the idle screw up quite a bit and it would stay running. Without any muffling it was loud but seemed happy and running on all 8. Even though its a roller cam I figured it wouldn't hurt to let it warm up at what was about 1,500 revs. Verified thermostat had opened, temp gauge happy so started to turn the idle down and it died only  hundred revs or so less. This kept repeating, it will run apparently happily at about 1,500 but turn it down and it dies.