What to look for when buying a mustang?

Mustang Australia

Author Topic: What to look for when buying a mustang?  (Read 6837 times)

Offline MustangMollie

• Pony
  • I'm new here
  • Name: Mollie
What to look for when buying a mustang?
« on: January 09, 2014, 04:34:47 pm »
I've loved mustangs ever since I was a kid. My first mustang was a present from my mum when I graduated from Uni. It was a 2002 black convertible GT. I loved that car! When my daughter came along a few years later I had to sell it as her capsule didn't safely fit in the back seat. I'm finally in a position to buy another mustang. I'm not a mechanic, nor do I work on cars for fun. I'm just a chick who loves mustangs. I'll look in Oz, but I may wind up importing from the US. I'm American (permanent resident here) and will be going back to the US for a visit in April.

What do I need to look out for?
If I find something online is there an independent inspector I can hire to go over the car?
I'm after a car that needs very little work or is ready to drive.
Is it possible to tell if a car has been patched with bog and painted over or sanded back to bare metal and painted properly?

Here are two mustangs that have caught my eye ...

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Ford-Mustang-Watch-Video-67-mustang-gorgeous-restored-c-code-fastback-wow-/191022362491?forcerrptr=true&hash=item2c79d1ef7b&item=191022362491&pt=US_Cars_Trucks

http://www.cars-on-line.com/33907.html

Offline 66 Hertz

• Web Editor
  • Top Streeter
  • SA member #787 MOCSA
    • http://s731.photobucket.com/albums/ww313/ozzyone_photos/66%20GT350H/?albumv
  • Name: Dale
Re: What to look for when buying a mustang?
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2014, 06:56:45 pm »