Noob and a 68

Mustang Australia

Author Topic: Noob and a 68  (Read 58998 times)

Offline chopmgw

• Worked
Noob and a 68
« on: August 17, 2010, 02:44:30 pm »
Well as the heading suggest, Im an absolute noob at car restoration. I know minimal about mechanical things and nothing about body restoration.
Im gonna be needing a lot of advice and help. (WARNING Adelaide folk).
Ive always loved the classic mustangs and nearly bought one 25 years ago but opted for kids and a larger mortgage.
The kids have grown up now and the cash flows a little more easily nowadays.
For the past 12 months Ive been thinking of buying my dream car.
I couldnt afford the 50-60k for that ,so I settled for a restoration project !
I recently bought this 68 coupe.
Californian car, all original panels, vinyl roof.

I was told the motor had recently been overhauled and from the looks of it the auto transmission. The brakes had also been "done". Whatever that means ?

Well the first thing I decided to do was strip the vinyl roof.
I was sure there would be a little bit of rust underneath but I wasnt prepared for what I saw.
The roof looks like swiss cheese in sections and the drip rails have rusted out in a couple of sections on both sides.
I wanted to cry.
Learned my first noob lesson though.
DONT buy a car with a vinyl roof !

Have been quoted 3-4K to fix the roof.
In the meantime, got plenty of other stuff to go on with.
« Last Edit: August 30, 2012, 10:37:33 am by chopmgw »
I can smell oranges !
Michael

Offline 66 Hertz

• Web Editor
  • Top Streeter
  • SA member #787 MOCSA
    • http://s731.photobucket.com/albums/ww313/ozzyone_photos/66%20GT350H/?albumv
  • Name: Dale
Carby issues....
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2010, 03:23:31 pm »
MOCSA club night.....this wednesday night, come along & introduce yourself.  :thumb:    :drink:
Paint by IMAGE CLASSIC CARS
build thread...http://www.mustang.org.au/forum/index.php/topic,14043.0.html

Offline shaunp

• GT 500
Carby issues....