Looking for a 65- 66 coup

Mustang Australia

Author Topic: Looking for a 65- 66 coup  (Read 2675 times)

Offline panhead

• L Plates
« on: April 04, 2010, 03:01:00 pm »
Hello, I am starting to look for a 1965-66 coupe for my wife. I am not sure weather to import or to buy local. The car does not need to be a bolt correct resto but does need to be in very good condition. I have some experience importing motorcycles and would be happy to import the right car.

It would need to be converted though as there is no way my wife will drive LHD.

I have a mechanical background but no real knowledge of Mustangs other than the basic stuff you pickup kicking tyres.

So I guess I am looking for some advice on what to look for, best option, (buy here or import) and a realistic price range that I should be shopping in (will I get a good car for 20-25K or am I fooling myself)

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, I am happy to look as long as it takes to get the right car. (aim here is to keep wife happy)

Offline IGALOP

• Pegasus
  • I have "CRAFT" Can't remember any F'n thing.
  • Car: 2017 GT
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2010, 03:26:38 pm »
For those bucks you would get a good 15 footer/driver. Just dont expect it to be a trophy winner.

Importing can be fraught with danger as we have many on this forum who have been burned by so called full restoed cars being bog and chicken wire when they get here.

Dont be the next one !

I'd buy locally again but there are advantages getting one in from the US.

Get the best bodied car you can afford too. Rust is the dark side!!!

If you import from OS do it with full inspection and report from a trusted source. Be patient  too if you import. Good luck.
Johnno;

Proud Vic MOCA member # 1569

I know it seems like I am in denial.........but I am absolutely not !!

Offline jusTANG

• Blue Printed
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2010, 03:32:38 pm »
Welcome aboard,