Do you have to degree a new cam ?

Mustang Australia

Author Topic: Do you have to degree a new cam ?  (Read 356833 times)

Offline Fitzy1980

  • Blue Printed
  • ****
  • Posts: 1254
  • I'm new here
Re: Do you have to degree a new cam ?
« Reply #1700 on: June 08, 2016, 12:03:43 pm »
There is a plate that the shifter bolts to and the plate bolts to the side of the trans.

Any idea why they would use spaces roughly the thickness of a 5/16 nut between the plate and the trans ?

It seems to line up and mount fine without them and like everything else with the car i can't workout why they put them in.


 :shrug:
« Last Edit: June 08, 2016, 12:05:33 pm by Fitzy1980 »

Offline barnett468

  • Cobra
  • *********
  • Posts: 7157
Re: Do you have to degree a new cam ?
« Reply #1701 on: June 08, 2016, 12:45:12 pm »
There is a plate that the shifter bolts to and the plate bolts to the side of the trans.

Any idea why they would use spaces roughly the thickness of a 5/16 nut between the plate and the trans ?

It seems to line up and mount fine without them and like everything else with the car i can't workout why they put them in.
 :shrug:

Maybe because the correct length bolts would have cost them an extra $1.18 and they ran out of money after they bought your cast iron camshaft.  :lmao:

The rods should be parallel to the car . If the rods are at a slight angle, see what they look like without the nut spacers.

Also, it may be that the shifter will hit the body when shifting into 3rd without the nut spacers . Just have to check it and see.

You will probably need to get bolts that are 10 mm shorter or put a bunch of flat washers on them sunder the head so they don't bottom out if you remove the nut spacers.
« Last Edit: June 08, 2016, 12:49:11 pm by barnett468 »

Offline barnett468

  • Cobra
  • *********
  • Posts: 7157
Re: Do you have to degree a new cam ?
« Reply #1702 on: June 08, 2016, 12:50:33 pm »
Hey Fitzy I think it's time to rename this thread .  :grin:
How about How To Fix Fitzys Lemon. We might be able to get to 100 pages. :grin:
Shit I've had a good laugh at this thread.

Well he did actually mention something earlier about a Lemon party.  :lmao:

Offline barnett468

  • Cobra
  • *********
  • Posts: 7157
Re: Do you have to degree a new cam ?
« Reply #1703 on: June 08, 2016, 12:52:04 pm »
Well it somehow lost 3 bolts out of where the shifter bolts to the side of the box...  :lmao:

I thought maybe 1 bolt working its way out but not friggin 3  :thud:

Lock washers are expensive and add unnecessary weight.  :lmao:

Offline Fitzy1980

  • Blue Printed
  • ****
  • Posts: 1254
  • I'm new here
Re: Do you have to degree a new cam ?
« Reply #1704 on: June 08, 2016, 12:59:44 pm »
What's the correct length bolt ?

They have used 1 inch bolts so i can only assume its so they didn't bottom out and didn't want to go to the effort of getting say 3/4 inch bolts...  :lmao: :lmao: :thud:

Well they cut the mother of all holes in the tunnel and there is at least an inch or 2 clearance around the shifter.

I bolted it up without the spaces and it shifts fine and doesn't foul on anything..

Offline Fitzy1980

  • Blue Printed
  • ****
  • Posts: 1254
  • I'm new here
Re: Do you have to degree a new cam ?
« Reply #1705 on: June 08, 2016, 01:06:30 pm »
At least the hole keeps my right leg nice and warm in winter with all that hot air coming through....

 :lol: :lol:

Offline Fitzy1980

  • Blue Printed
  • ****
  • Posts: 1254
  • I'm new here
Re: Do you have to degree a new cam ?
« Reply #1706 on: June 08, 2016, 02:38:59 pm »
Just took it for a spin to check the shifter, man this thing fkn rips. Pulls like a freight train.. :burnout:  :lmao:

Onto a tight turn before the freeway on ramp in 2nd, flat stick through the bend, full noise into 3rd, wind it out, into 4th.

Hit 140 kmh in no time...

And the noise, scared the shite out of a couple of cars that had there windows down..

 :drool:  :burnout:
« Last Edit: June 08, 2016, 02:40:56 pm by Fitzy1980 »

Offline barnett468

  • Cobra
  • *********
  • Posts: 7157
Re: Do you have to degree a new cam ?
« Reply #1707 on: June 08, 2016, 05:14:37 pm »
Just took it for a spin to check the shifter, man this thing fkn rips. Pulls like a freight train.. :burnout:  :lmao:

Onto a tight turn before the freeway on ramp in 2nd, flat stick through the bend, full noise into 3rd, wind it out, into 4th.

Hit 140 kmh in no time...

And the noise, scared the shite out of a couple of cars that had there windows down..

 :drool:  :burnout:

Without a video, there ain't no proof.

Offline Fitzy1980

  • Blue Printed
  • ****
  • Posts: 1254
  • I'm new here
Re: Do you have to degree a new cam ?
« Reply #1708 on: June 10, 2016, 11:26:57 am »
Well it looks like there won't be any proof at the moment.

Had to push it out of the shed because it took 20 mins to get it in reverse without it grinding the bejesus out of the gears..

Tried the old 1st, 1st than reverse but made no difference.

Just going to bite the bullet and pull the box out..

So in the words of the great Alf Stewart..  :lmao: :lmao:

« Last Edit: June 10, 2016, 12:06:41 pm by Fitzy1980 »

Offline barnett468

  • Cobra
  • *********
  • Posts: 7157
Re: Do you have to degree a new cam ?
« Reply #1709 on: June 10, 2016, 01:37:16 pm »
Well it looks like there won't be any proof at the moment.

Had to push it out of the shed because it took 20 mins to get it in reverse without it grinding the bejesus out of the gears..

Tried the old 1st, 1st than reverse but made no difference.

Just going to bite the bullet and pull the box out..

So in the words of the great Alf Stewart..  :lmao: :lmao:



There is nothing wrong with your fkng box, quit being a pansy.

« Last Edit: June 10, 2016, 01:38:48 pm by barnett468 »

Offline Fitzy1980

  • Blue Printed
  • ****
  • Posts: 1254
  • I'm new here
Re: Do you have to degree a new cam ?
« Reply #1710 on: June 10, 2016, 04:20:55 pm »

There is nothing wrong with your fkng box, quit being a pansy.

I've gotta pull it out anyway nancy

Offline barnett468

  • Cobra
  • *********
  • Posts: 7157
Re: Do you have to degree a new cam ?
« Reply #1711 on: June 10, 2016, 05:38:12 pm »
I've gotta pull it out anyway nancy

Why, I though my bleeding technique fixed the clutch so it now only has a small occasional leak?


Offline Fitzy1980

  • Blue Printed
  • ****
  • Posts: 1254
  • I'm new here
Re: Do you have to degree a new cam ?
« Reply #1712 on: June 10, 2016, 07:18:21 pm »
Why, I though my bleeding technique fixed the clutch so it now only has a small occasional leak?

Nope, leaks like a sieve some days now

Offline shaunp

  • GT 500
  • *********
  • Posts: 8496
  • Location: Brisbane
Re: Do you have to degree a new cam ?
« Reply #1713 on: June 10, 2016, 07:52:46 pm »
Does it have one of the dumb arse internal slave cylinder throw out bearings? Piss it off and mount an Australian Falcon slave cylinder on the outside, You'll need to make a mount for it if you have US Bell housing though the yanks didn't have hydraulic clutches like we did.

Offline barnett468

  • Cobra
  • *********
  • Posts: 7157
Re: Do you have to degree a new cam ?
« Reply #1714 on: June 11, 2016, 04:39:18 am »
Nope, leaks like a sieve some days now

lol, that's because you got the air out of it so it is putting more pressure in the system.

You must have done something very bad in your life.  :lmao:


Offline barnett468

  • Cobra
  • *********
  • Posts: 7157
Re: Do you have to degree a new cam ?
« Reply #1715 on: June 11, 2016, 04:39:47 am »
Does it have one of the dumb arse internal slave cylinder throw out bearings?

Yes.

Offline Fitzy1980

  • Blue Printed
  • ****
  • Posts: 1254
  • I'm new here
Re: Do you have to degree a new cam ?
« Reply #1716 on: June 11, 2016, 08:46:31 am »
lol, that's because you got the air out of it so it is putting more pressure in the system.

You must have done something very bad in your life.  :lmao:

Like what ?

Be awesome ?

 :lmao: :lmao:

Offline barnett468

  • Cobra
  • *********
  • Posts: 7157
Re: Do you have to degree a new cam ?
« Reply #1717 on: June 11, 2016, 03:32:20 pm »

Offline Fitzy1980

  • Blue Printed
  • ****
  • Posts: 1254
  • I'm new here
Re: Do you have to degree a new cam ?
« Reply #1718 on: June 11, 2016, 05:38:54 pm »
:thud:

Please that's something you'd say, followed by pics of Jesus etc...  :lmao: