<<new>> Need some advice.

Mustang Australia

Author Topic: <<new>> Need some advice.  (Read 23475 times)

Offline Shockwaver

• Pony
« on: January 28, 2009, 08:02:38 pm »
HEYY!
I'm new to Mustangs and looking at getting my first soon. I'll be on my P's very soon (hopefully) because of the P Plate rules i am not aloud to drive anything over 200Kw or 6 cylinders so it looks like the 2.8L v6 is my only option. I havent seen many of these engines around though, are these ok engines? are parts hard to get? I'm looking at a '78 fastback. I understand these wern't the best Mustangs produced but earlier models are out of my price range. If anyone would please give me some advice on anything about these cars/things to look out for would be much appriciated.
Thanks!
Geordie

Offline Shockwaver

• Pony
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2009, 11:48:46 pm »
the big restriction for me at the moment is being on my P's, where i can only drive a v6 engine and there seems to be very few of these around. The earlier model Mustangs ive looked at all have v8's. I'm looking at a '78 model fastback ghia, with a v6 in brisbane at the moment, appriciate the advice! I gather from your reply that the parts for the v6 may be hard to find let alone expensive.

I spose the next question is, would it be worth me getting the 78 to drive for the 3 yrs im restricted and from there look at upgrading into a v8?

Offline stuie87

• Worked
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2009, 12:09:45 am »
What are they asking for the 78?
IS it registered and on the road?
What work does it need ?
Overall condition?
Could you get a loan to get a bit more $$.
I figure if you buy a 78 and it needs alot of work you may as well invest the $ in a classic.
Im not sure you  would get your $$ back when you sell.
Plenty of 6 cylinder classics around.Although LHD might present a few problems.

No V8s on Ps now?