Importing a Mustang...newbie

Mustang Australia

Author Topic: Importing a Mustang...newbie  (Read 5633 times)

Offline jambo

• Thoroughbred
« on: May 12, 2007, 06:51:18 am »
Hi All , i'm looking for a little advice on importing a Mustang into Victoria. I'm new to Australia (arrived 6 months ago from the UK) and although i imported a Mustang into the UK a few years ago obviously the rules over here are different. The car is on its way (thanks to Auto Ezy Search) and fingers crossed i should get my hands on it in the next 6 weeks , i'm a little fuzzy on what happens once the car is mine. Can anyone run through the procedure of what's needed to make the car legal in Vic. I presume the car needs to be registered and needs to gain a RWC (whats needed for a Vic RWC ?) , also the car needs to be insured - can that be done before it gets registered?
Sorry for the amount of Q's.....
Thanks in advance ,

Jim
Sorry for the amount

Offline jambo

• Thoroughbred
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2007, 08:18:52 am »
Cheers Phil for your reply,

Should of mentioned that its a '66 Mustang that will remain LHD. All the paperwork has been applied for. I have the headlights ready for RWC, i'm guessing thats about it providing the car is pretty much road worthy? I'm in Sunbury ,  near the airport - anyone know of nearby LMCT engineers that are 'sympathetic' towards Mustangs ? (Where is Graham Folwell located?)

jim

Offline evan

• Blue Printed
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2007, 09:27:27 am »