Newbie - 6 Cyl Mustang Queries

Mustang Australia

Author Topic: Newbie - 6 Cyl Mustang Queries  (Read 2630 times)

Offline bb65coupe

• P Plates
« on: November 10, 2010, 01:58:13 pm »
Hi Guys,

I'm a newbie here, and recently have decided to live out one of mydreams and buy a mustang.

I've got my eye on a 65 (64 1/2) early build one with the 6cyl engine and 3sp. manual transmission.

What are your thoughts on the 6 cyl stangs...are they considered an outcast or are they worth getting or should i hold out for a V8?

I must admit that not having a V8 is a problem for me personally, as i like the look and style of the mustang the most. The car wont be a daily driver, so i assume the 6 cyl will be fine for going for a few wekeend cruises etc...

I've done a bit of reading and determined that it should have the U coded engine of 170ci, are spares / parts still easily available for these engines here in oz?

Will the generator system be a problem further down the line regarding maintenance etc...or should i just get it all swapped to an alternator and is that an easy thing i can get done by an auto elec?

Thanks for any advice.

Cheers,

Bernie

Offline Envy 68

• Worked
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2010, 02:26:26 pm »
 :welcome: G'day Bernie,  Welcome aboard, can't comment really on what is best, it all depends on what you like and want......and how much money you have to spend  :smile01:

Some photos of your pride and joy would be good to see.

Regards

Mark
SALUTE!!  To those who have given their lives doing their job.

Offline 66 Hertz

• Web Editor
  • Top Streeter
  • SA member #787 MOCSA
    • http://s731.photobucket.com/albums/ww313/ozzyone_photos/66%20GT350H/?albumv
  • Name: Dale
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2010, 02:47:17 pm »
Paint by IMAGE CLASSIC CARS
build thread...http://www.mustang.org.au/forum/index.php/topic,14043.0.html

Offline StephenSLR

• Top Streeter
    • www.lycanthia.com
  • Car: 1965 Fastback
« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2010, 02:53:27 pm »